The Bavarian Network for Sustainability in Higher Education

The Network aims to improve the framework conditions for sustainability at and with Bavarian higher education institutions.

From this overall objective, the following partial goals are deduced:

  •   The Network raises awareness and motivates, by encouraging academic debate about the grand challenges of society and sharpening the understanding of sustainability in the context of higher education and across all faculties.
  •   The Network connects people and organisations by offering a platform for exchange of knowledge, methods and good practice examples as well as by initiating and supporting subject-specific working groups.
  •   The Network creates transparency by informing about current developments and activities connected to sustainability at Bavarian higher education institutions.
  •   The Network advises by providing higher education institutions and policy makers with recommendations for action and supporting them with the implementation of sustainability.  


Towards Sustainability: Memorandum of Understanding on the cooperation of HEI's in Bavaria

In 2019 22 higher education institutions signed the Bavarian Network for Sustainability in Higher Education's memorandum of understanding in support of a whole-institution-approach to sustainability at higher education institutions in Bavaria.  On the basis of a common understanding and vision of sustainability, the universities and universities of applied sciences pool their resources and cooperate with eachother in order to implement sustainability in the fields of research, teaching, operations, governance, knowledge transfer and student initiatives.  The Network thereby supports the recommendations of the German Rectors' Conference (Hochschulrektorenkonferenz HRK), 2018, designed to foster a culture of sustainability at higher education institutions.


The 22 signatory institutions are:

  • Katholische Universität Eichstätt-Ingolstadt,
  • Universität Bamberg,
  • Universität Bayreuth,
  • Universität Regensburg,
  • Universität Würzburg,
  • Hochschule für Philosophie München,
  • Ostbayerische Technische Hochschule Amberg-Weiden,
  • Hochschule Ansbach,
  • Technische Hochschule Aschaffenburg,
  • Technische Hochschule Deggendorf,
  • Hochschule Hof,
  • Hochschule Kempten,
  • Hochschule Landshut,
  • Hochschule München,
  • Katholische Stiftungshochschule München,
  • Hochschule Neu-Ulm,
  • Evangelische Hochschule Nürnberg,
  • Ostbayerische Technische Hochschule Regensburg,
  • Technische Hochschule Rosenheim,
  • Hochschule Weihenstephan-Triesdorf,
  • Hochschule Würzburg-Schweinfurt,
  • Hochschule für Musik und Theater München.


 The memorandum of understanding can be downloaded here:

Memorandum of Understanding - Towards Sustainability at Bavarian HEI's
Adobe Acrobat Dokument 418.7 KB